Of New Year Resolutions and Reconnecting with your old friends.

Happy New Year to all my friends here. May this year bring lots of fun moments for all of us to share and cherish!

The first question people ask after wishing New Year is about resolutions. Ha! And my reply is always my usual ‘no resolution’ is my resolution. What’s the point of keeping it when I know I am going to give in to the temptation those french fries or the pillows present. 😂 Maybe it’s because I am more of the living in the moment kinda person.

This year probably for the first time I kept a resolution. Nothing far fetched (for me) like getting up early and doing exercises daily (hello pillows!) or cutting down on spicy, oily (and yummy!) food. No it was much more harder.

Recently I was going through the old family albums with my mother and we both went on a trip to the memory lane, reminiscing about the good old days when scoring better marks in mathematics than your best friend gave you utmost pleasure and birthdays were the ‘most looked forward to’ days of the year. Over the years, some of those friends drifted apart. As I was going through it, I realized, there are few of them from whom I haven’t heard in years. It made me melancholic. This year I resolved to reconnect with them. And I did.

On January first, I called them up, feeling little overwhelmed and apprehensive, worrying whether I will look like a fool calling them after years. Some of them had their numbers changed but their parents were happy enough to help. My worrying was a waste of energy because all of them were so glad I called and berated for not doing it themselves, sooner.

We spoke at length about grown up life, revisited childhood, wished we could go back, realized with sadness we cant, and vowed to stay in touch and meet up. Needless to say my first day of 2019 was a well spent one. The best 1st Jan in a long long time.

Hearing from people with whom your treasured childhood memories are made, gave me so much pleasure.

I probably don’t hold the same importance in their lives and they don’t in mine too, but with these people I shared the best period of my life. We all have moved on, made new friends, grown up, found a living but I realized we do think about each other whenever we remember our childhood. These memories will always be one of the most special ones in our lives.

Growing apart doesn’t change the fact that for a long time, we grew side by side; our roots will always be tangled. ~ Ally Condie, Matched

Now this might seem a tad bit preachy, but if you have got such people in your life with whom you were once close to but drifted apart while growing up, Re-connect. Trust my word, it feels great. Life seems lot better because these are the people from the best phase of your life.

This year, my resolution is to make new memories with old pals. What’s yours?

2 thoughts on “Of New Year Resolutions and Reconnecting with your old friends.

Leave a comment